Check If Your Gmail Account Exposed To Snoopers and How To Fix It.



If you’ve been using Google’s email service for a while, you may have given permission for third-party apps to access your personal info, and might not even realize it. Some apps require permission to integrate with Gmail, but often their demands feel unnecessary and invasive.

Whether you use a PC or mobile device, Google makes it surprisingly simple to discover which third-party apps are cribbing your data and, more importantly, how to instantly revoke access.

Following Step To Expose Gmail Account Snoopers.


Step 1
The third-party apps are granted one of three levels of account access:
  • View basic information
  • Read and write access
  • Full account access.




To see each level on your PC, sign in to google.com. In the top-right corner, click the grid icon and select Account. 


In the ‘Security’ section, scroll down and you will see a section  ‘Apps with account access’. You can manage this access from here.

Step 2
You’ll see two sections: ‘Apps with access to your account’ and ‘Saved passwords’. Each section offers an at-a-glance overview of linked apps. 


Click Manage Apps to view further details about the personal data accessed by third-party apps. You can also see which sites use your Google details to log in, and which official Google apps are linked to your account.

Step 3
Under ‘Third-party apps with account access’, go through each app’s permissions with a fine-tooth comb. Expand app details by clicking the name, revealing which Google services it accesses, how those privileges are used and when permission was granted. If you don't recognize an app, click ‘Visit app on Google Play’ to learn more.



Step 4
Ready to block Gmail snoopers?
To revoke permissions for any app, click the Remove Access button. In the on-screen pop-up, tap OK to confirm your request. Repeat the process for each app you wish to clear from your account. By scrolling to the bottom of the page, you're also able to limit the access of official Google apps.

Step 5
Removing third-party app access on iOS is a similar process. Download the Google app, pressing the cog icon (iPhone)or account photo (iPad)in the top-left corner. Tap ‘Manage your Google Account’, then ‘Sign-in & security’. Scroll down to ‘Apps with access to your account’ and follow steps 3and 4 to review and revoke access.



Step 6
If you’re using an Android handset or tablet, revoking third-party access requires you to open the Google app. Tap the menu button, then the tiny down arrow to the right of your profile picture and email address. If you have multiple Gmail accounts, select the one you wish to control and tap Manage Accounts.


Step 7
You’re presented with all the apps associated with your account –you may be surprised by some or have forgotten about others. Scroll down to your email address, flanked by a Google logo. Tap it to see ‘Account sync’, which lets you alter which apps, including Gmail, automatically sync. There’s also a Google Account option. Tap this, then swipe to Security.

Step 8
The Security section provides several ways to secure your account – from changing passwords and using two-factor authentication, to adding recovery contact details. Scroll almost to the bottom to view third party apps with account access’, where you can remove apps that ‘you no longer trust or use.’ Beneath the app list, you’ll see ‘Manage third-party access’.  Tap this.


Step 9
As before, inspect each app’s access level and Google service connections. The list includes any app with account access, even ones that have been uninstalled from your device. Under this list is a section ‘Signing in with Google’ listing apps and sites that log in via Gmail and can view your email address. Tap Remove Access to clear out all untrustworthy apps.

Step 10
If you accidentally remove access, reinstall the app, open it and reinstate default permissions. You can set individual permissions via your phone’s Permissions tool. Prior to installation, visit the app’s Google Play page. Scroll to Additional Information,  find the Permission section and click ‘View details’ to see what access the app requires.



Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post